Madeira rally championships balanced

Read so far

Madeira rally championships balanced

The Campeonato de Ralis Coral 2018 is well balanced. João Siva leads the championship with one more point than Alexandre Camacho, the only one that won twice local championships so far.

Looking back, João Silva started well this season, winning with great differentiation the Rali São Vicente. In the same rally, Alexandre Camacho, the entitled champion, won two classifications managing to get closer to João Silva with his Skoda Fabia R5. Miguel Nunes also premiered his Citroën DS3 R5 and even though he was quite close to Alexandre Camacho, he only won the last SS, ensuring the third place in the overall ranking.

In the Rali Porto Santo Line, Miguel Nunes was faster, even with a blocking issue with the brake pedal of his vehicle. João Silva scored second and Alexandre Camacho third in the overall ranking.

In the Rali da Calheta, João Silva won his second championship of the year, finishing the SS with 0.2s less than Alexandre Camacho, the overall second-ranked driver. In the Rali do Marítimo was time for the current regional champion, Alexandre Camacho, to win. The latter place at the position at the podium was taken by Miguel Nunes, who could not keep up with the rhythm of the above. 

He had to give it all with Vespas Skoda Fabia R5 in order to overtake Miguel Nunes with his Citroën D3 R5. In a race that caught the eye of the public, the two drivers were only 2,7s apart. In this rally, the team João Silva/Vítor Calado only reached the third place.

There are four rallies in the Campeonato da Madeira de Ralis, including the Rali Municípios do Funchal, the Rali de Câmara de Lobos, the Zoom I Gest Rali do Faial and the Rali Município de Santa Cruz.